Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

General Info

Passenger Services


News & Updates

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
28102017/ 11931-10-2017

The Union Minister of State for Railways, Shri Rajen Gohain today flagged off 20501/20502 Agartala – New Delhi (Anand Vihar) Rajdhani Express at a ceremonial function held at Agartala Railway Station making Agartala the 3rd Northeastern Capital city to be connected to National Capital. Hon’ble Governor of Tripura, Shri Tathagata Roy, Hon’ble Ministers in Tripura Government - Shri Badal Choudhury and Shri Manik Dey, Hon’ble Members of Parliament (Lok Sabha) - Shri Shankar Prasad Dutta & Shri Jitendra Chowdhury and hon’ble MLA Shri Dilip Sarkar were among the dignitaries present at the function. Senior Railway officers led by General Manager Shri Chahatey Ram and hundreds of enthusiastic people attended the function.

Speaking at the ceremony, Minister of State for Railways Shri Rajen Gohain said that since the new government took charge at the Centre three years ago, the northeastern region has been given special attention and at present a number of railway construction works are simultaneously being undertaken in the entire Northeast. He said, funds were never a constraint for realising developmental works in the region and the Central Government believes in a holistic approach for development which is not narrowed down by region-specific consideration. Shri Gohain said, among all the north-eastern states Tripura got best of rail connectivity under the current government. He also said that he had intervened personally to provide the shortest possible route for the new Rajdhani Express so that the people of the state get faster connectivity with the national capital.

Hon’ble Governor of Tripura, Shri Tathagata Roy in his speech lauded the efforts of the railways and said that it was the outlook of the government that plays important role in bringing in development to a region. Other speakers, including Shri Badal Choudhury, Shri Manik Dey, Shri Shankar Prasad Dutta, Shri Jitendra Chowdhury and Shri Dilip Sarkar too praised railways for their efforts in providing a better train service to the State. They called upon N. F. Railway authorities to continue with providing better services and facilities and appealed for timely completion of projects.

The new Rajdhani Express train will leave Agartala at 18.30 hrs o­n every Monday and reach Anand Vihar (New Delhi) at 11.20 hrs o­n Wednesday. During the return journey, the train will leave Anand Vihar at 19.50 hrs of Wednesday to reach Agartala at 12.30 hrs of Friday. The train will cover a distance of about 2457 km in about 41 hours.

The train will have 01 First-Class AC coach, 02 Two-Tier AC coaches and 08 Three-Tier AC coaches besides o­ne Pantry Car and two Generator-cum-luggage vans. The train will have Flexi-Fare in AC 2 Tier and AC 3 Tier. The train will have commercial stoppages at Dharmanagar, Badarpur, New Halflong, Hojai, Guwahati, Kamakhya, Rangiya, Barpeta Road, New Jalpaiguri, Katihar, Barauni, Patliputra, Mughal Sarai and Kanpur. Commercial stoppages would be also provided at New Karimganj after completion of certain formalities very soon.

It may be mentioned that, Agartala, the capital of Tripura, became the third NE state capital to be connected with BG railway line in 2016. The first-ever BG express train connecting Agartala with New Delhi was flagged off o­n 31-07-2016. 

(Pranav Jyoti Sharma)

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.