Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

General Info

Passenger Services


News & Updates

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
The last MG section of Northeast converted into BG

Hon’ble Railway Minster of State Shri Rajen Gohain today flagged off the first BG passenger train service in the newly converted Baraigram - Dullabcherra section in the Karimganj district of Assam by remote from Guwahati. Shri Parimal Suklabaidya, Minister for PWD (Road & Building, National Highways), Fisheries and Excise, Govt of Assam was also present o­n the occasion. At Baraigram station, Aziz Ahmed Khan, MLA of Karimganj (South) alongwith other distinguished guests were present to witness the historic event. In his speech Shri Gohain said that Railway Ministry is taking up various developmental projects o­n priority basis for the north-eastern region under the able leadership of the Railway Minister Shri Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu. General Manager of N. F. Railway Shri Chahatey Ram, General Manager of N. F. Railway Construction Organization Shri H. K. Jaggi alongwith other senior officials were present.

 Conversion of the Baraigram - Dullabcherra section (29.40Km) from MG into BG marks the completion of gauge conversion of the entire MG lines in Northeast region to BG. This Baraigram - Dullabcherra portion was under the Lumding – Silchar - Kumarghat gauge conversion project. With the commissioning of this section there is no MG section left for conversion within N.F.Railways system. The sanctioned cost of this gauge conversion work was about Rs.140.00 Crs. However a saving of about 16.00 crs could be achieved by eliminating a permanent diversion of 1.5 kms through hills.

There are 8 major Bridges and 60 Minor bridges and 6 manned Level crossing gates in the section. There are 6 stations in the section viz. Eraligul, Phakhoagram, Bazarghat, Ratabari, Anipur and Dullabcherra. This section starts from Bariagram station which lies o­n the Badarpur-Kumarghat-Agartala line and is about 40Km from Badarpur Railway Jn. Dullabcherra being the terminating station.

After being certified by CRS to run passenger trains, today passenger trains are being flagged off fulfilling a long standing demand of the local population. At present two pairs of trains o­ne from Silchar another from Badarpur will connect Dullabcherra daily. Train number 55688 will leave Silchar at 05-00 hrs to reach Dullabcherra at 08-45 hrs. Train number 55689 will leave Dullabcherra 09-10 hrs to arrive Badarpur at 12-25 hrs. Train number 55690 will leave Badarpur at 15-15 hrs. to arrive Dullabcherra 18-30 hrs. Train number 55687 will leave Dullabcherra 19-10 hrs to arrive Silchar at 23-00 hrs.

(Pranav Jyoti Sharma)

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.