Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

General Info

Passenger Services


News & Updates

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
India’s longest train Vivek Express to run four days a week from May this year

The Northeast Frontier Railway has decided to increase the frequency of India’s longest train 15906/15905 (Dibrugarh - Kanniyakumari - Dibrugarh) Vivek Express from existing bi-weekly to four days a week. Train No. 15906 (Dibrugarh - Kanniyakumari) Vivek Express which is now running o­n Saturday & Tuesday, will be run o­n every Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday w.e.f. 7thMay, 2023. Similarly, train No. 15905 (Kanniyakumari - Dibrugarh) Vivek Express which is now running o­n Thursday & Sunday, will be run o­n every Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday and Monday w.e.f. 11th May, 2023.

Train No. 15906 (Dibrugarh - Kanniyakumari) Vivek Express departs from Dibrugarh at 19:25 hours and reaches Kanniyakumari at 22:00 hours o­n fourth day of journey. In return direction, train no.15905 (Kanniyakumari - Dibrugarh) Vivek Express departs from Kanniyakumari at 17:20 hours and reaches Dibrugarh at 20:50 hours o­n fourth day of journey. The composition of this train is of 22 coaches, consisting of 01 AC Two Tier, 04 AC Three Tier, 11 Sleeper Class, 03 General Seating, 01 Pantry Car and 02 Power cum Luggage Rakes.

Dibrugarh – Kanniyakumari Vivek Express is the longest train of  Indian Railways which runs from Dibrugarh in India's North-eastern state Assam to Kanniyakumari in Tamil Nadu the southernmost state of India. The train covers a distance of 4189 kilometres and traverses through nine states in India. This train is currently the longest train route in India by both distance and time. The train has 59 halts across its route. The first service of Vivek Express was started in 19th November, 2011. From the last 11 years the train is relentlessly serving the people. 

 Existing timings and stoppages of the train will remain unchanged. The details of stoppages and timings of this train are available at IRCTC website and through NTES.


(Sabyasachi De)

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.