Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

General Info

Passenger Services


News & Updates

Vigilance Portal

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
22022019/574 12-03-2019
Nagaon Express flagged off by Minister of State of Railways from Nagaon

Shri Rajen Gohain, Minister of State of Railways today flagged off the 15629 / 15630 Nagaon Express from Nagaon station in presence of large gathering. The train will run between Silghat Town and Tambaram every week. Shri Rupak Sarmah, MLA/ Nagaon, Shri Sanjive Roy, General Manager / N.F. Railway, Shri Ram Bhadadur Rai, Divisional Railway Manager / Lumding Division alongwith other senior railway officials were present.

            Speaking o­n the occasion, Rajen Gohain said that people of four central Assam districts of Nagaon, Golaghat, Karbi Anglong and Sonitpur will now be able to travel to Chennai for medical treatment without going to Guwahati for catching trains. o­n the other hand, the train will help tourists coming from different parts of the country o­n a visit to Kaziranga National Park. Tourists can now get down at Jakhalabandha which is a short distance from the famous park. He informed that efforts are being made to remove all bottlenecks in railway operations. Four Manned Level Crossing gates in Hojai - Habaipur section will soon be replaced with Road Over Bridge / Limited Height Subway to improve punctuality and increase in safety aspects.

He also informed that Northeast is getting special attention for overall development of railway infrastructure. The entire BG route from Bongaigaon to Lumding has been sanctioned for doubling and doubling work of Lumding – Hojai section is almost complete. He assured the people that more trains will run from Nagaon to places like Mumbai and Delhi and after completion of the development work of Silghat Town, more long distance trains will start from Silghat Town station as well.

It may be mentioned here that train no 15629 / 15630 which was earlier running between Tambaram and Guwahati has been extended to run from Silghat Town to provide a direct link from Silghat to Tambaram / Chennai fulfilling a long standing demand of people of Central Assam. Silghat station is being developedas a Terminal station and very recently a direct train from Silghat to Kolkata was also flagged off. Train number 15630 will leave from Silghat Town every Friday at 08-30 am to reach Tambaram at 08-50 pm o­n Sunday. During return journey train number 15630 Tambaram – Silghat Express will leave from Tambaram at 09-45 pm o­n Monday to reach Silghat Town at 09-45 am o­n Thursday. 

(Pranav Jyoti Sharma)

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.