Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

General Info

Passenger Services


News & Updates

Contact Us

General Info

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

                         BRIEF HISTORY OF LUMDING DIVISION

Lumding Division started functioning with effect from 01/05/1969. Jurisdiction of Lumding Division extends from Agthori to Furkating on Broad Gauge (Main Line), Chaparmukh Junction to Silghat & Senchoa to Moirabari (BG Branch Line) and section from Lumding Junction to Silchar via Badarpur, Badarpur to Agartala, and Agartala section extended upto Sabroom on 29.04.2019 and Arunachal to Jiribam for BG operation on 20.02.2016 and the section has been extended upto Vangaichungpao on 24.03.2017 and Karimganj to Maishashan for BG operation on 11.11.2016. New line Tetelia – Kamalajari was handed to open line on 28.06.2019.

Lumding Division serves six states viz Assam, Tripura, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram & Meghalaya with a total route network of 1208.26 kms.

The rail network passes through 11 districts in Assam (viz; Kamrup, Kampur Metro, Morigaon, Nagaon, Hojai, Karbi Anglong, Golaghat, Dima Hasao, Cachar, Hailakandi & Karimganj),5 districts in Tripura (viz; North Tripura, Dhalain, Unukoti, Gomoti & West Tripura), 3 districts in Mizoram (viz; Kolasib, Aizwal & Lunglei), 4 districts in Nagaland (viz; Dimapur, Kohima, Mokokchang & Wokha), 3 districts in Meghalaya (viz; East Khasi, West Jaintia Hills & Ri-Bhoi) and 4 districts in Manipur (viz; Churachandpur, Bishnupur, Senapati & Imphal West). Thus, the total district covered under Lumding Division is 30. It directly serves these states through a network of 165 stations.

The region covered under Lumding division comprises southern plains of Brahmaputra, plains of Barak Valley, Hilly tracks of N.C. Hills and Karbi Anglong districts of Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Tripura states with dense forests. Roads and other means of communication in these areas are yet to be developed adequately and therefore, the Railway continues to be the mainstay of communication network. Lumding Divison bears the responsibility of transporting major requirements of Food-Grains, Salt, Sugar, Cement, Steel, Fertilizer and other essential commodities.

The Division handles passenger as well as goods traffic. The main hub of passenger activity is centered around Guwahati. The maintenance of BG coaches is concentrated at Guwahati, New Guwahati, Kamakhaya & Agartala. Most of the long distance Mail/Express trains originating from N. F Railway are based at Guwahati area. 25 pairs of daily Mail/Express/Passenger trains and 36 pairs of Weekly/Biweekly & other special trains are dealt by Guwahati area. The number of passengers handled at Guwahati is about 46,23,178 per day.Other major stations with large passenger traffic are Guwahati, Kamakhya, Dimapur, Silchar, Lumding, Hojai, Lanka, Diphu, Jagiroad, Haibargaon, Chaparmukh, Agartala, Badarpur, Dharmanagar & New Haflong.

Computerized Passenger Reservation system is available at 17 Railway stations, 44 stations provided with Un-reserved Ticketing System (UTS) cum Passenger Reservation System (PRS) and 22 Non-Rail Head locations served by the Division. Un-reserved Ticketing System (UTS) has been provided in 80 stations of the Lumding Division. TMS has been provided at 17 stations. 3 YTSK and 13 STBA has been running over Lumding Division.

Source : Welcome to North East Frontier Railway / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed : 21-07-2023  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.