Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

General Info

Passenger Services


News & Updates

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Break Jurney Rule

Break Journey (AS ON  1.5.07)

(1)       (a)       Break of journey, at en-route station, is permitted only on those single journey ticket which are for more than 500 kms.  The first break of journey shall not, however, be admissible until a distance of 500 kms. has been travelled from the starting station.  Only one break-journey will be permitted on tickets upto 1000 kms. and maximum two break-journeys will be allowed on tickets of longer distances. The period of break-journey that can be availed at a station will be upto a maximum of 2 days only excluding the day of arrival and the day of departure of the train. For all return tickets, each half of the tickets is treated as a single journey ticket.



A passenger with single journey ticket for 800 kms. wants to break his journey at 423 kms.

not permissible.





A passenger with single journey ticket for 600 kms. wants to  break his journey at 501 kms.

Permitted for 2 days maximum.





A passenger with single journey ticket for 1050 kms. wants to break his journey at 400 kms. and 801 kms.

Only one break journey at 801 kms. is permitted for 2 days maximum.





A passenger with single journey ticket for 2000 kms. wants to break journey at 800 kms., 905 kms. and 1505 kms.

Two break journeys permitted as per choice of passenger at the rate of two days maximum at each point of break of journey.

(b)       Whenever a through passenger detrains at a station en-route for catching a connecting train, it should not be treated as break journey provided such halt is for less than 24 hours. For example, the holder of a direct ticket from Pune to Jammu Tawi via Dadar travels from Pune to Bombay by any day train a day earlier in order to catch Bombay-Jammu Tawi Express next morning leaving Bombay at 6.25 hours shall not be treated as break journey.

Note.- Break of journey is not permissible on the tickets of certain trains like Rajdhani Express, Shatabadi Express, etc. which have separate all inclusive fare structure on point-to-point basis, and therefore, refund on such partially used tickets is also not admissible.

(2)       Passengers are required to have their tickets endorsed at the station where journey has been broken. The endorsement shall consist of the station code, station Master’s Initials and the date.

Note – Passengers breaking journey and not obtaining the endorsement as prescribed will be treated as persons travelling without a proper ticket and dealt with accordingly.

(3)       Passengers breaking the journey en route except as provided in paragraph (1) above must surrender their tickets at the station where journey is broken and obtain Ticket Deposit Receipt (TDR).  Thereafter, they should act in accordance with the instructions on TDR for claiming refund for the untravelled portion on such tickets.

(4)       Break journey shall not be permitted short of the station upto which reservation has been done.  If a passenger seeking reservation on ticket wants to break journey enroute, it should be clearly indicated on the Requisition form the names of the stations where the break journey is required. 


Source : Welcome to North East Frontier Railway / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed : 09-02-2011  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.