Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

General Info

Passenger Services


News & Updates

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Chairperson Railway Board & Chief Executive Officer Smt. Jaya Varma Sinha carries out inspection of Sivok - Rangpo Rail Project

Maligaon, 05th April, 2024:

Smt. Jaya Varma Sinha, Chairperson Railway Board& Chief Executive Officer (CEO) o­n 5th April, 2024 carried out an intensive inspection of the o­n-going Sivok – Rangpo Rail Project (SRRP). Shri Chetan Kumar Shrivastava, General Manager of N. F. Railway & Shri Satish Kumar Pandey, General Manager/N. F. Railway/Construction along with other Senior Railway & Construction officials accompanied her during the inspection.

The Sivok – Rangpo New Rail Line Project is o­ne of the most prestigious o­ngoing National Projects in India that aims to connect presently road dependent Sikkim state to the railway map of the country. The Chairperson Railway Board& CEO took stock of the progress of works and inspected the lining works of Tunnel no. T – 1 & T – 8 of this project. Chairperson Railway Board& CEO also inspected Tunnel no. T – 7 of the project. Notably, the first underground Railway Station within the Indian Railways network i.e. Teesta Bazar Station comes under this tunnel, marking a pioneering step in the advancement of Railway infrastructure in the country. She also inspected Testa Bridge & Sivok Station construction work. Later, she had a brief discussion with the officials of Indian Railway Construction Organization (IRCON) o­n all the aspects of the Sivok – Rangpo New Rail Project.

The Chairperson & CEO emphasised o­n safety and sustainability in tunnel construction which is crucial for ensuring uninterrupted connectivity. On completion of this project, first time the state of Sikkim will be connected via railways. The Project includes construction of 14 no’s of tunnels (total 38.53 kms), 05 railway stations and 13 no’s of major bridges.

(Sabyasachi De)

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.